Meditation to BURN INNER ANGER

In the practice of Kundalini Yoga, it is recommended to pick a certain kriya or meditation and make that your focus for a set number of days.  First you start with a 40 day practice.   Over the course of those 40 days you experience all the ups and downs that come with the passing of a full moon cycle plus the extra cushion of another week, give or take.  You have good days, sad days, boring days, stressed days, excited days etc.,  but no matter what kind of day you are having, you make the time to sit down, settle your mind, focus your intention and meditate.  It is a powerful practice indeed.  It takes willpower and discipline.  Yogi Bhajan, the teacher who brought the technology of Kundalini Yoga to the West, said that “In 40 days, you can make or break a habit”.   I can testify to this from my personal experience.

I always try to have a 40 day meditation going on.  Sometimes I have a few overlapping.  Some are short, some are long, but what matters for me is that I am making that commitment to myself and to my soul  to tune-in, meditate and make time each day to bless myself, pray and send that love energy out to others.  Currently I am a few weeks into a meditation to “Burn Inner Anger”.  It’s a good one.  It’s pretty challenging but not impossible.  Just takes some willpower to hold your arm out straight for 11 minutes!  My arm gets tired and my mind gets distracted and pissy – but all that serves to bring me back to my purpose and my commitment to working out my inner anger so I can live more freely and full of LOVE.

I offer this one to you all, because, really, who doesn’t have some inner anger to get rid of?  Try it out.

INSTRUCTIONS

Sit in Easy Pose with a straight spice, chin in and chest out.  Extend your index and middle fingers of your right hand and use the thumb to hold down the other fingers (your fingers are as if you are making a pledge…which you are!).  Raise your right arm in front of you and up to sixty degrees.  Keep your elbow straight.  Place your left hand over the heart center.  Close the eyes.  Make an “O” with your mouth and inhale and exhale powerfully through the mouth (2 second inhalation, 2 second exhalation).  Strong, powerful breathing!

Yogi Bhajan says “Breathe strongly and powerfully with emotion.  Burn inner anger and get rid of it.  Take the help of the breath to get rid of the body’s weaknesses and impurities.”

Finish by inhaling deeply, hold the breath for 10 seconds, stretching both arms over head, stretching the spine tall.  Exhale powerfully like cannon fire through the mouth. Repeat this breath sequence two more times.

Practice for 11 minutes a day for 40 days!  Remember to tune in with Ong Namo Gurudev Namo!

Not only is this a profound practice for releasing anger it also rebuilds the immune system, making it strong and powerful.

Blessings.

SAT NAM.

One thought on “Meditation to BURN INNER ANGER

  1. Pingback: Meditation to BURN INNER ANGER (via athayoganusasanam) « Butterflies Fly

Leave a Reply

