Simple but Elegant Fennel Soup

I find nothing more satisfying on a brisk day than a warm bowl of soup.  I normally make a lot of crazy concoctions with lentils, grains and veggies all mangled together, but recently I made a very simple and totally perfect soup that charmed me to no end.  Like most everything I cook, this was an experiment.   I had a big fennel bulb and a huge bag of celery and not much else of interest in the fridge, so I improvised.  This afternoon I tried to recreate this magical fennel soup and it still came out great (much to my surprise), although this batch was a little darker green and thinner in consistency (I didn’t have as much celery today).

It’s super easy to make and the end result is so delightful.  The flavor is unique, subtle and very satisfying.  Make sure you have a loaf of some good crusty bread handy to dip in your bowl of creamy, green goodness!  My recipe is vegan, but you could always use butter or chicken stock if that’s how you roll.

Guidelines for the yummiest fennel-celery soup ever:

  • 1 shallot
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Whole bunch of celery
  • Full bulb of fennel with leaves
  • Olive oil
  • Black pepper
  • Good salt (I like to use organic herb salt – Herbamare)
  • Organic Vegetable Broth

Chop up your shallot and garlic – toss them in a stock pot with a big dash of organic olive oil (you could also add a little coconut oil for an even richer flavor!).  Sautée.  Chop your bulb of fennel and add in the lovely wispy leaves from the top.  Chop up the celery stocks (avoid leaves).  Add the fennel and celery to the pot and stir over heat until everything begins to meld and golden.  Add a good dash of herb salt and a few big cranks of black pepper.  Then add to a blender (I have a Vita-mix, which is fabulous because it can blend just about anything so I don’t have to worry about chopping up the vegetables too perfectly).  Add some organic vegetable stock to your blender and start blending!  Purée away ’til your soup becomes creamy and smooth.  Empty the blender contents into your same stock pot, toss the rest of your vegetable stock in to clean out the blender and then top off your pot with it.  Turn the heat on low, stir and slowly bring your soup to your preferred temperature.  Garnish with a fennel sprig and voilá – dinner is served!

Try it out and let me know how it goes or how you made it yours!

Blessings for health and tasty, creative fun in the kitchen!

Frances

Leave a Reply

