Tasty Vegan Pumpkin Muffins – warm and sweet on such a soggy day!

It is a gray and rainy day here.  So I’ve been enjoying a glorious afternoon inside making my nest – cleaning house, making yogi tea, catching up on emails, listening to good music and baking!  On Thursday I will be leaving my beloved Boyfriend Yogi for a whole week.  It will be our first time apart since we got together last summer and we are both a little nervous!  The mother hen in me is most worried that he will not be able to feed himself properly while I am away.  Today we went to our little food store down the road and loaded the fridge with good food and plenty of kale (which he assures me he can cook all by himself….I hope so….).  The freezer has 4 full containers of kitcheree and soup and I restocked on staples like black beans and almond milk.  I decided the cherry on top would be for me to bake him something sweet that will last him a good while during my absence.  I found a can of pumpkin puree in the cabinets so I decided to give it a whirl.  My mother used to make pumpkin muffins for me on my autumn birthday as a kid, so they’ve always been a special favorite of mine.  To add a little fun, I tossed in oats and golden raisins to this batch.

I am not much of a baker.  I have such a free hand in the kitchen, which is wonderfully exciting and creative most of time, but when it comes to baking, improvisation is generally a bad idea.  I say this with full recognition, yet even so, I can rarely manage to follow a recipe exactly. Today was one of those rare and momentous occasions when my super-tweaked recipe proved to be a tasty success!  These muffins are soft and sweet with a pretty nice fluffy texture (rare for vegan baking, imo)!

RECIPE ….more or less….   : )

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1  1/4 cups raw Turbinado sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 cup of rolled oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground  nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground cardamon

1  1/2 to 2 cups pureed pumpkin

3/4 cup almond milk

1/2 cup vegetable oil (canola works fine)

1 tablespoon honey

1 cup of golden raisins


Preheat oven to 400°F. Lightly grease 2 twelve-muffin tins.  I use Spectrum’s coconut oil spray.

Sift together flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices. In a separate bowl, whisk together pumpkin, almond milk, oil, and honey. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry.  Toss in raisins and blend lightly.

Fill the muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick or knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

ENJOY!

Blessings.

Frances

One thought on “Tasty Vegan Pumpkin Muffins – warm and sweet on such a soggy day!

  1. Pingback: Autumnal Shifting. « athayoganusasanam

Leave a Reply

