Full Vinyasa…. FULL ON!

This is exactly how I feel about practicing full vinyasa….

Seriously, it’s pretty awesome….and it kind of makes me cry a little….

Recently I’ve felt the need to ramp things up a bit.  Maybe it’s the longer days and the increased sun time… Maybe it’s the fact that it’s been 6 months since I started Mysore 6 days a week…but whatever it is, I’ve had this big boost in my energy recently, and some days, practicing 1st Series is almost, well, easy.

So, I’ve decided to give myself a bit more of a challenge.  Because honestly, what else would you expect from a Scorpio/Vatta-Pitta aggravated/ex-party girl turned Ashtangi!  Our teacher has this tradition of leading full vinyasas in Led Primary on the first Friday of every month.  The first time I experienced this it just about pushed me over the edge….so, that’s exactly what I decided to do.  Full vinyasa, but just twice a week – Tuesday and Thursday (for now…).  I’m going to try it out for a few weeks and if it feels good, I might try 3 or 4 days a week of full vinyasa

For those of you who aren’t down with all the lingo – full vinyasa means that in between each posture you pick up, jump back, chaturanga-updog-downdog – then jump up to standing and start over — reach up, uttanasana, chaturanga-updog-downdog then jump through to the next pose.  So basically it’s like doing a full Sun Salutation between each pose.  But between the sides, you just do a normal Vinyasa.  It’s great for bandhas and it resets your spine.   Sri K Pattabhi Jois apparently taught some of his students to practice this way always, which is hard-core.

I want to accelerate my practice and go deeper and this seems to be the ticket.  This past week practicing full vinyasa just these 2 times I’ve been able to touch my ankles in my last backbend after drop-backs, which is totally amazing because I used to loathe and fear backbends completely!  I’m awe-struck by this practice.  It’s moved so much blocked energy in my body.  I’ve had some pretty huge physical adjustments in my body happen as a result of this clearing process.  I’m so grateful for my Ashtanga practice and so grateful for my teachers!

Blessings,

Frances

One thought on “Full Vinyasa…. FULL ON!

  1. Pingback: Highway to Happiness « old sand road

Leave a Reply

