The Beauty of Snail Mail.

As I’ve been settling into our home (finally feeling truly like home after 10 months…) and setting up a new and functional desk-space, I’ve found myself sorting through old postcards and stationary that I’ve had in random boxes and drawers for years.  I do love pretty cards.  I continue to buy them for no good reason, especially the cards at museum gifts stores! I’ve even made some of my photography into postcards with the hopes of selling them (though at this point I’m pretty much giving them away or using them myself…alas…).

But all of these piles of paper got me to thinking about the lost art of letter-writing.  I wonder about how, in the future, our correspondences will be remembered or archived since everything is electronic these days.  Email love-letters just don’t hold the same allure….

I love getting mail – you know, real mail.  To this day, I check our little post box with excitement even though I know I will only find random catalogs, bills or the occasional wedding invite (seems to be a lot of those these days).  To be fair, I probably receive more legitimate letters than most people.  My mother sends me pretty cards and newspaper clippings all the time.  She is one of the few people I know that still writes proper letters regularly.  In fact she probably writes more letters than everyone else I know combined!

I love this about my mother.  Her letters always made checking my mail special when I was away at prep school and college. (Though once I received this handwritten scribbly love letter on notebook paper in my post box at college…..that was pretty exciting…and totally old school, so that kind of beat the NYT style section clippings from dear mum!)

So because of this, I’ve decided to pull out those pretty cards and put them to use!  I sent out a plea on my facebook page for addresses in exchange for a sweet note and received a grand outpouring!  Seems like I’m not the only one who loves getting real mail!

I started today writing cards to 6 dear friends spread out around the US.  I had so much fun picking out a few of my favorites to send.  On the backs I wrote little notes, thoughts, memories and well-wishes and on a few of them I added a short poem from one of my favorite anthologies.

I hope in this little way I can offer a moment of sweetness to another person.  Those “random acts of kindess” (one of my mum’s favorite quotations) really do mean the world to a person.

Would you like to open your mailbox and receive a pretty card with a poem someday soon?  Leave a comment with your address or send me an email and I will put you on my list!

Blessings for a beautifully sweet and sunny day.

Love Frances

image

9 thoughts on “The Beauty of Snail Mail.

  1. Pingback: Listening…Healing…Yoga. « athayoganusasanam

  2. I am often to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information.

  3. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

    • Why thank you – what a compliment! Please do keep checking in and spread the word about athayoganusasanam! This blog is still only 6 months running or so…but I hope to keep it going strong and share it with more people!
      Blessings
      F

Leave a Reply

