Let Chocolate Be Thy Medicine.

Hippocrates said something like that, right?  🙂

Well, it’s my new favorite thing to do.  Not that I really needed more excuses to eat chocolate, but if you do, this a great one!

By now, most folks know about the benefits of raw cacao.  It’s a “superfood”.  It’s very anti-oxidant rich and contains chemicals in it that make you feel good!

Cacao is totally delicious and very energizing!

Add to that raw organic coconut oil (one of my staple ingredients for food and beauty) and you don’t really even need more excuses to eat chocolate for your health…but there are more!

Recently (resulting from a tip from my herbalist) I’ve been making raw cacao truffles with herbal powders.  A lot of herb supplements come in powder form, but sometimes it’s hard to figure out how to take them.  Mixing herbs into your chocolate hides the taste of the powder and adds a super health-kick to your dessert!

The herb powders I’ve been using recently are shatavari and damiana.

I have a big bag of damiana so I’ve been trying to use it up however I can.  I’ve been taking it because it’s an adaptogen, meaning an herb that helps you deal with stress and fatigue.  When I was hanging out in Australia, all the heads down there drank damiana tea because it makes you feel real mellow and groovy.  It’s also an aphrodisiac apparently. It has a nice green sort of a taste and I definitely feel good when I eat it.

Shatavari is an Ayurvedic herb that is especially beneficial for women.  It supports and nourishes the reproductive system and balances hormonal and menstrual cycles among other toning benefits.  Our acupuncturist recently recommended it for Boyfriend Yogi because it’s very cooling and calming for the system (which he and I both need because of our pitta-aggravation during the summer!).

You could put any type of herbal powder in your chocolate, such as maca or a super-greens powder.  Make your chocolate specific for you!

My recipe for raw cacao truffles is not that unique.  You could probably find lots of other recipes on the internet.  I often change it around, depending on what I have in the pantry. But here is the basic list of ingredients:

Raw Coconut Oil

Raw Honey

Raw Cacao Powder

Raw Almond Butter

3-4 tsp of Herbal Powders

Raisins or Dates (just a few for a little sweetness and texture)

A dash of Almond Milk or pureed banana to help blend it nicely.

Spices: cardamon, cinnamon, nutmeg (adds a little kick and they all have health properties as well)

I throw all those ingredients in the Vitamix, blend it up smooth, toss it in a bowl and put it in the fridge to harden.  Once the chocolate hardens, I scoop out a spoonful and then roll it into a little ball in my hands and then dust it with raw dessicated coconut.  Beautiful and tasty!  It takes no time at all and once you make a batch you can keep them in a jar/tupper-ware in the fridge for as long as your self-control permits!

Regarding measurements for the ingredients – each time I make a batch it’s a bit different.  In general, I use 2 or 3 big spoonfuls of the coconut oil, 2 spoonfuls of almond butter and then cacao and honey to taste.  You can’t really go wrong here.  Play with the proportions depending on how rich or sweet you like your chocolate!

Not super pretty, but definitely tasty!

Enjoy!

Blessings,

Frances

 

3 thoughts on “Let Chocolate Be Thy Medicine.

  1. Pingback: Raw Chocolate Perfection. | Lila

Leave a Reply

