Seven Steps to Happiness

Yogi Bhajan always said that “Happiness is our birthright”.  But when you don’t make the effort to know yourself, you can’t learn how to love and accept yourself and then happiness is a pretty unattainable goal.  That’s where yoga sadhana (dedicated practice) comes in to play.  Committing to a practice means committing to yourself….and this is the first step as you will see in Yogi Bhajan’s Seven Steps to Happiness.

Seven Steps to Happiness

1st Step is Commitment
The first step is commitment. In every life you are meant to commit. That is why the word is commit-meant. Commitment gives you CHARACTER.

2nd Step is Character
Character is when all your characteristics-all facets, flaws, and facts-are under your control. Yin and yang meet there, totally balanced. Character gives you DIGNITY.

3rd Step is Dignity
People start trusting you, liking you, respecting you. Dignity will give you DIVINITY.

4th Step is Divinity
What is Divinity? Divinity is when people have no duality about you. They trust you right away. They have no fear about you. Divinity gives you GRACE.

5th Step is Grace
Where there is grace, there is no interference, no gap between two people, no hidden agenda. Grace gives you the power to SACRIFICE.

6th Step is Power to Sacrifice
You can stand any pain for that person. That sacrifice gives you HAPPINESS.

7th Step is Happiness

– Yogi Bhajan


I hope you find this as illuminating as I do.  Fiance Yogi and I are back in town for 2 short days and then heading out early on Wednesday morning for a quick jaunt to Montana to catch up with his folks.  I won’t be posting much this week as I’m leaving the MacBook at home.  So, hope everyone has a happy and healthy week and I’ll catch you on the flip side.

Sat Nam.

Love Frances


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s