Delectable Vegan Gingerbread

So here it is – the recipe that hopes to compare to that perfect gingerbread I had over the weekend in Missoula.

My bread didn’t turn out so pretty (even though I almost completely followed the recipe which is unheard of for me!)…but it’s still tasty and rich and full of that old-fashioned molasses flavor.  Yum.  The texture is not quite as perfect as the MT gingerbread, but I’m not going to complain about that because the flavor is still so good!

I looked at a recipe (and then of course made some changes) from Myra Kornfeld’s book “The Voluptuous Vegan” (which is a great cookbook, although at times the recipes are a little too elaborate for my patience).

I think the problem with the appearance of my creation is that the pan I used was too small for the amount of batter I had, but oh well, that’s just an excuse for me to make it again next week.  It’s pretty darn tasty as is, but I bet a dollop of fresh whipped cream would make a warm piece of gingerbread simply heavenly.

I don’t understand people who don’t like ginger – I probably have a bit of ginger every day.  It’s so warming and spicy and also very beneficial for the digestion.  It’s a wonderful spice for these colder months especially for those of us who tend to be a bit yang-energy deficient.

 

Vegan Gingerbread

1 cup plus 2 teaspoons whole wheat pastry flour

1 cup unbleached all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cardamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 cup organic canola oil

1/2 cup molasses (I used blackstrap which has lots of calcium, magnesium, potassium and B vitamins – so there’s a good excuse to eat more gingerbread!)

1 cup Grade B maple syrup

1 cup original almond milk (or whatever non-dairy alternative you like)

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

 

Ready? Go.

1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a a pan  (the recipe calls for a 9 inch circle cake pan which you then line the bottom with parchment paper…I didn’t have one of these so I used coconut oil in a rectangular pyrex).

2. Sift together dry ingredients in a medium bowl.

In another bowl whisk oil, syrup, molasses, soy milk, vinegar, and vanilla vigorously until emulsified (can do this in a blender)

3. Pour wet batter into dry ingredients. Whisk together until all liquid ingredients are absorbed. The batter will be quite wet

4. Pour batter into oiled pan and bake for 45 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.  It will rise a bit so don’t overflow your pan like I did!

And then eat up!

 

Enjoy.

Love Frances

 

5 thoughts on “Delectable Vegan Gingerbread

  1. Franny,
    This was so good that I feel cheated. My son ate 3/4 of my piece not 10 minutes after we left you.
    You rock the treats!

    • well my dear, you and tooty will just have to come to the white elephant party next weekend to get some more! he did seem to love it. i’m also going to try my hand at some vegan cupcakes for the party too….

    • thanks jan! sending you lots of love! i’m getting so excited for next october at belle haven! i think i found the right invitations finally – they are very sweet and victorian-looking…perfectly fitting for the location…

  2. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Candy Cane Icing. « athayoganusasanam

Leave a Reply

