Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Candy Cane Icing.

Hello friends.

One week ’til Christmas! I spent this morning preparing for our yoga community’s White Elephant Party by baking up a storm.  It was a grand time…in fact I’m still on a bit of a sugar high from the party.

I’m on my ladies holiday and nursing my shoulder (bursitis apparently?…) so I skipped out on led primary this am, which made me sad, but I still had a great morning.

I put on my ruffly apron and listened to my favorite old jazz standards….check out the tunes below… (Billie, Nina, Ella, Nat, Louis, Miles…the good stuff!)

and I made gingerbread AND cupcakes! Yum.

These cupcakes were delicious and perfectly moist.

I wanted to make them somewhat Christmas-y and luckily I found some organic, corn-syrup and artificial dye-free vegan candy canes at WF!

So, are we ready to bake?

Here are your INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup non-dairy milk  (I used hazelnut because that’s what we had in the fridge)
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup soy yogurt (optional, if you don’t like soy, skip it…but it does add moisture)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

This will make 12 cupcakes.  (I actually doubled the recipe so don’t get confused by the photos…)

Preheat the oven to 350.

Fill your muffin pans with festive cupcake foil thingies.

Start by whisking together the milk and the vinegar.  You can set this aside to curdle for a minute.

Then add the oil, sugar and vanilla and whisk away! Ideally whisk until it’s frothy even (this would be easier if one has a Kitchen-Aid….baking all this today definitely inspired me to add that to our Registry!!)

Add the yogurt (if you’re using it) and whisk some more.

Then in another bowl sift your dry ingredients together.  Beware – the cocoa can get a bit messy!

Now it’s time to mix the wet and dry ingredients.  Do this in two batches – it makes the blending easier.

Mix out all of the lumps

Once you’re all mixed, it’s time to fill the cups with batter.  Fill them 3/4 of the way full.

Bake for 15-18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center.

Meanwhile….

the FROSTING!

Disclaimer – my frosting did not turn out well….I screwed up proportions terribly (big surprise since I am a failure with measuring cups…) but if you actually follow this recipe, it should work.

When it came down to it, I actually ran out to the market and bought some vegan frosting because we were already late for the party and my batch simply would not do…. That’s a secret, so don’t tell anyone…buying pre-made stuff is sooo not how I roll!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup nonhydrogenated shortening
  • 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted if clumpy
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • 1/4 cup plain non-dairy milk
  • 5 or 6 smashed candy canes (keep one fairly in tact for garnish)

For “shortening”  I used Organic Earth Balance Coconut Spread.  I think it worked alright.

Stir the shortening/coconut stuff ’til it’s really fluffy (again, a Kitchen Aid would be a godsend here)

Then add the powdered sugar and beat for a few more minutes.

Lastly add the vanilla and peppermint extracts and candy cane pieces and stir like crazy.

Ideally you will end up with a fluffy buttercream-like frosting.  (You will obviously not see this in my photos….perfection has never been my gig!)

To smash the candy canes, put them in a thick plastic bag (cover with a tea towel for extra protection), grab a small hammer and get agro! This is the fun part!

By now it’s probably time to get your chocolate yummies out of the oven.

Ta-da!

Remove them from the pans immediately and place on racks to cool.

Wait until they are completely cool to frost and decorate with the candy canes!

Festive, tasty and vegan! Yippee!

Enjoy.

With LOVE,

Frances

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Candy Cane Icing.

  1. Franny,
    Looks delicioso! I have a friend, Jane, who is the vegan cupcake goddess and I will pass this little treat along. She is also about a week away from giving birth to her second child! She has a great book called:

    Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World: 75 Dairy-Free Recipes for Cupcakes that Rule – Isa Chandra Moskowitz; Paperback
    and another one called:

    Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar: 100 Dairy-Free Recipes for Everyone’s Favorite Treats – Isa Chandra Moskowitz; Paperback

    …which I highly recommend! (I’m hoping Santa brings them to me for Christmas!)
    Love love love!
    Laura

Leave a Reply

