To the Motherland!

We are off! 2 months in India with my beloved Fiance Yogi – I am over the moon with excitement!

My bag is packed and we are cleaning up house preparing for our flight this afternoon.  I’m seriously taking less stuff on this trip than I take for a weekend at my mother’s in DC.  It’s a little insane.  But, after much deliberation and agonizing, I decided that despite its girth, I’m taking my big Manduka mat instead of my “travel” mat.  I think I’m going to be happy about this, especially practicing on concrete floors.

I’ve decided to take this time off from the blog.  I know a lot of people travel-blog, but right now I think it’s best for me to focus completely on being immersed in India, without feeling the pull to describe it all to my readers.  I promise that upon my return I will post lots of photos and stories!

We will be with David Garrigues for a month in Kovalam getting serious with our asana practice.

And then in Vrindavan for a few weeks getting serious with our bhakti and seva practices.

And before and after that a bit of floating around and exploring Tamil Nadu and then up in Rishikesh/Haridwar and Delhi.

I have a few goals/intentions for my time in India:

1 – Stay healthy – take my herbs, sleep well, eat mindfully and lightly, take advantage of the Ayurvedic centers in Kerala.

2 – Study! My kindle is loaded with good stuff like the Bhagavad Gita, Yoga Sutra, Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Upanishads, Rig Veda and lots of beautiful devotional poetry.  I plan on reading and studying texts each day as part of my yoga practice.

3 – Be open and spontaneous – I’m one of those people who likes to have a plan all the time, but India’s not really the kind of place where you can have a plan and stick to it.  It just doesn’t work like that!  So, I’m honoring this intention to stay easy, open and flexible, to go with the flow and not get caught up in my rigid, controlling tendencies.

4 – Meditate! Recently I haven’t been as consistent with my meditation practice.  I’ve brought along a new Kundalini meditation for moving beyond fear and I’m going to practice this every day as well as taking a short silent meditation practice daily as well.

5 – More japa! I love to chant but I’m not always the best about chanting lots and lots of rounds.  Normally I chant between 2 to 6 rounds on my mala, but in India I’m making the goal to chant 6 to 8 rounds of Mahamantra a day.

6 – Most of all I plan to have FUN and be open to the JOY and BEAUTY and the many lessons of the whole EXPERIENCE itself.  I’m thrilled to be going on this trip with my best friend and partner. Yay!

Catch ya’ll on the flip side.

Peace and LOVE

Frances

 

Leave a Reply

