Back in the Swing of Things….Well, Kind Of…

Hello old friends!

I am back in the U S of A after an epic 2 month journey through India with my dear Fiance Yogi (FY).  Spring has come early to Charlottesville – I seemed to have missed the cherry blossoms and the daffodils! How sad…

I’m still adjusting to being home. Re-entry is hard. We ended up getting quite ill and weak our last month in India.  We were too sick to practice much Ashtanga.  My stomach is still a bit wobbly to be honest. I was really looking forward to getting back in the swing of things at the studio here, but things are changing (more on that in a later post) and on top of that, on my second day of practice (primary series on Friday), my knee popped a few times and now I’m limping around in pain.  I’m praying it’s not that little piece of cartilage that starts with the letter “M” and ends with “S” (I won’t say it out loud for fear of it being true).  So, for the next few days I’m just going to have to RICE and take it easy, which is fine with me because it means more time for blogging, wedding planning and cooking in my own kitchen!

India was amazing, challenging, beautiful, frustrating, inspiring and so much more…. 2 months felt like 2 years! FY has this theory about why time goes so slowly in India.  It has to do with the theory of relativity and being closer to the “Source”, but you can ask him about that! In any case, I feel like I’ve been gone forever. We traveled from the very Southern tip of India all the way up to the foothills of the Himalayas!  Today I will give you a few photos just to give you a brief taste of our trip.  Over the next few weeks I will share more stories and photographs, but for now, a teaser!

Exploring the rock carvings and temples of Mamallapurum, Tamil Nadu

Theyyam dancer at a temple festival in Kerala

Living it up at Lighthouse Beach in Kovalam where we spent a month practicing Ashtanga with David Garrigues

David playing beautiful kirtan during savasana one day at the Shala

The banks of the holy river Yamuna in Vrindavan

The magnificent Krsna-Balaram Mandir in Vrindavan

Morning pujas and bathing in the Ganga in Haridwar

Chilling at a bakery in Laxman-julla, Rishikesh

Marble lace at Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi

Beautiful geometry at Jantar Mantar Astronomical Observatory in Delhi

Colorful spring at the Lodi Gardens of Delhi

 

Hope you enjoyed those.  More to come later.  Happy to be back and looking forward to hearing from you.

Blessings and Love

Frances

 

4 thoughts on “Back in the Swing of Things….Well, Kind Of…

  1. Sounds like an exciting adventure, Frances! I hope you feel better soon. Wishing you a healthy and rejuvenating recovery. “Ra Ma Da Sa Sa Say So Hung.”

  2. Pingback: Yoga in the City « Lila

  3. Pingback: My Achy Shoulders and the Trappings of Ashtanga. | Lila

Leave a Reply

