Chocolate + Avocado = Birthday Cake Awesomeness.

Avocados and Chocolate are my two favorite foods (blueberries and spinach follow close behind).  Combining these two perfectly divine substances is total genius!  In the past I’ve made raw chocolate puddings using avo but today I took it to a new level with a birthday cake based upon this great recipe from Marcus Samulelsson’s website.

Today is my friend Faith’s birthday.  Faith is a fabulous cook who is health conscious and very creative in the kitchen.  She also leads these excellent $5 mat Pilates classes, for which I’m extremely grateful since I’m in pre-wedding workout mode!  Thanks Faith!  Anyways, she’s having a little birthday picnic potluck tonight and I’m on cake duty!  I’m not a superb baker, but I love doing it anyways, mostly because it’s a great excuse to make a huge mess and lick spoons!

I wanted to make Faith a cake that is both very delicious and healthy.  This cake is both – it’s made with whole wheat flour, sprouted spelt flour,  flaxseed meal, raw turbinado sugar and lots of avocados.  Desert with loads of fiber, protein, omega-3s, vitamins and minerals – count me in!

This recipe is egg-free and dairy-free but isn’t 100% vegan because I used raw honey.  Honey is still technically an animal product, but I don’t have qualms about using it because the honey we get is from these super nice beekeepers from the next county over.  It’s sooo tasty and raw local honey is so good for you!

I’m looking forward to our little party tonight and I’m betting this cake tastes as good as it looks and smells right now!

WHOLE WHEAT CHOCOLATE AVOCADO CAKE

Makes 1 (8-inch) Double-Layer Cake

2¼ cups whole-wheat flour
½ cup sprouted spelt flour
½ cup flaxseed meal
6 tablespoons unsweetened organic cocoa powder
2½ teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 cup raw honey
½ cup soft avocado, mashed (about 1 whole small avo)
2 cups filtered water
2 tablespoons white vinegar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup raw turbinado sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.

Spray coconut oil cooking spray into the 2 baking pans (I used these colorful spring loaded ones and the cakes came out very easily).

Sift flours, cocoa, baking powder and soda in a small bowl and put to the side.

In large bowl whisk (I used an electric one, but not necessary) honey and avocado.  Add in water, vinegar and vanilla and keep whisking!  Add sugar and whisk til fluffy.

(Doesn’t this look amazing? Avocado and honey! That would make a great face mask…it was really hard for me to resist putting this on my skin while I was cooking!)

Add all the dry ingredients at once to the wet and whisk to blend.

Pour the batter into the cake pans and tap them around the sides to pop air bubbles.

Cook for 35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.  (Halfway through baking it’s a good idea to rotate the cakes around in the oven)

When they are done, pop onto cooling racks for an hour to cool before frosting.

 

Chocolate Avocado Frosting

2 ripe avocados (remove any brown spots)
3 overflowing tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
3 cups of organic powdered sugar
2.5 teaspoons of vanilla extract
2 heaping tablespoons of organic coconut oil
2 tablespoons of unsweetened, organic cocoa powder

The trick to this is to sift the powdered sugar (which I didn’t do and immediately regretted) then you just whisk whisk whisk like crazy til it’s all smooth.  Frosting is a personal thing so taste-testing to get the right proportions is recommended!

Guacamole frosting turns to fudgy frosting with just a few hits of cocoa! Yum!

To finish: Slather the cake with the frosting and garnish!  I used sliced strawberries but rasberries would be lovely too!

Enjoy!

Blessings,

Frances

8 thoughts on “Chocolate + Avocado = Birthday Cake Awesomeness.

    • Hey Erin.
      The cake turned out to be a smashing success…I highly recommend this recipe! Super tasty. Aren’t those pans cute….to be honest, I just got them at Target… thanks for stopping by the blog!

  1. I love the idea of using avacado’s in the cake and icing…I love them! A super healthy sounding cake that would surely taste delish to boot! Putting this on a list to make and bake! My son has dairy and egg allergies…I have a yummy chocolate cake recipe but it is always great to try new ideas…thanks! Susan H. @ The Food Allergy Chronicles

    • awesome! thanks for checking out my blog. i think you will really like this cake…it’s super yummy and has a great texture. i look forward to browsing through your recipes too…my fiance doesnt eat eggs but loooves baked goods so i’m always searching for new tricks to try! blessings, frances

  2. Pingback: Top 12 Posts of 2012. | Lila

Leave a Reply

