Guru Purnima, Goodbye Scale! and Green Hummus.

Happy Moon-day! Happy Guruji’s birthday and Happy Guru Purnima – the day to celebrate and honor our teachers!

DG and Joy made a lovely video about Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.  Check it out~

 

On a completely unrelated note, today is the day that I finally decided to ditch my scale!  I stepped on it this morning for the first time in a few weeks (I dread weighing myself these days, even though when I was younger I was obsessed with doing so!) to find out that I am/might be 7 pounds heavier than when I returned from India a few months ago.  I find this very hard to believe, especially since recently a lot of people have commented that I look quite thin.  Of course I have been working out and building some muscle recently, but really? 7 pounds worth of muscle? I think not.

So then I realized that either A) My scale is wrong…and this wouldn’t surprise me since I normally weigh myself on it a few times in a row and I always get different results or B) My scale is right and I’ve actually gained weight, but I feel so good in my body that the number on the scale doesn’t really matter!

Both options left me with the same sense that it is time to ditch the scale.  For good!  My clothes fit loosely on my body, I’m feeling strong and healthy in my practice and so really all that the scale can offer me is confusion and too often feelings of guilt or shame.  So goodbye to all of that!  I’m looking forward to the freedom of being comfortable in my body’s shape and happy in my skin with no concern whatsoever to the random three digits on a scale.  Hallelujah!

And moving on….to the good stuff….food!

Today I experimented with a new hummus recipe.  I didn’t have any garlic or lemon in the house so I decided to try something a bit different.  The result?  Tangy, totally tasty hummus that’s a lovely celadon green color!

RECIPE:

1 can of organic garbanzo beans

2 cups of organic shelled edamame

1 heaping tablespoon of organic sesame tahini

1 huge handful of parsley leaves (keep a couple out for garnish!)

2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

2 and half heaping tablespoons of lime juice

2 tsp herb salt (or celtic salt)

1 tsp of organic kelp granules

sprinkle of black pepper or cayenne for a little kick!

 

Blend edamame (after cooking for a few minutes) with chickpeas and all the other ingredients in a food processor or Vitamix.

Garnish with finely chopped parsley and some white or black sesame seeds!

Try on carrots sticks or organic blue corn chips – yum!

This is a protein-packed and super satisfying snack!

ENJOY!

Tomorrow I will be sharing with you some notes from the workshop I attended with Kino M. this past weekend, so please stay tuned!

Blessings,

Frances

One thought on “Guru Purnima, Goodbye Scale! and Green Hummus.

  1. Pingback: On (Not) Losing Weight For My Wedding | Lila

Leave a Reply

