My Daily Reminders…

I open my refrigerator a lot. I guess I’m kind of a piggie! But really, I work mostly from home, I cook a lot and I drink lots of water and kombucha so that means I’m always popping in and out of the kitchen to grab something. My fridge door currently displays four important reminders for me. Each one makes me smile.

1 – Our Save the Date. We are only 55 days away from the wedding! Eeek!

which leads me to….

2 – “The World’s Most Epic To-D0 List to be accomplished by November 1st 2012”. So much to do! But I’m slowly checking items off of it every day!

Did I mention that we are moving to CO less than three weeks after the wedding….craaaazy!

3 – “Our Vow” (FY posted this on the fridge door right after our engagement.) This is a beautiful and inspiring quote by His Holiness Radhanath Swami  about marriage as a spiritual practice. I love reading these words every morning. They remind me that conscious partnering is yoga too. My dear friend from college will be reading this quote at our ceremony in October.

4 – “Five Sutras of the Aquarian Age“.  These aphorisms are wonderful reminders and affirmations about positively relating to the world and to others from a place of love, compassion, patience and dedication. Yogi Bhajan imparted so much wisdom – I’m very grateful for all his teachings in my life.


What’s on your refrigerator door?

In college, I wrote with a Sharpie on my bathroom mirror, “You Are Beautiful!” It was a nice thing to see every morning, especially on those (many) days when this didn’t exactly feel true. This is a simple way to add a little extra positivity and love into your daily routines. Hanging up some inspiring words or beautiful and empowering images around the house is a great way to enhance your mindfulness and joyfulness in your day to day life. Give it a try!

Love Frances

8 thoughts on “My Daily Reminders…

  1. I love this Frances! I also like to do this, and tend to keep poems and words that I love around the house in places where I will see them on a regular basis. One of my current favorites is in our kitchen and it reads “There are things you do because they feel right & they may make no sense & they may make no money & it may be the real reason we are here: To love each other & to eat each other’s cooking & say it was good.” It’s by Brian Andreas, one of my favorite artists and writers. It reminds me that I am doing the important things, and not to worry when I get caught up in other peoples expectations.

    • That is such a perfect quote! I love it. It’s so true.. Sharing lovingly prepared and nourishing food, following dreams, expressing ourselves creatively, enjoying the company of beautiful souls – that’s what it’s all about!
      I can’t wait to share the company of your beautiful soul! 54 days! eeek! xo

  2. Ah! I gave Swamiji’s explanation of marriage to my husband because that is how we see eachother, so nice to see other couples doing it right, blessings on your upcoming wedding Frances:) Haribol!

    • thank you joy!
      that’s so lovely to hear.
      i love radhanath swami! every time i’m near him i feel like my heart is going to explode with sweetness….i’m very happy to have his words bless our wedding 🙂
      blessings.

  3. Pingback: Preparing for the Big Day! | Lila

  4. Pingback: Intentions and Goals for 2013. | Lila

Leave a Reply

