10 Reasons I’m Psyched to Move Out West.

It’s just 10 weeks ’til our move back to Colorado and I’m getting so excited! Here’s why….


1. The Rocky Mountains. They are so unbelievably majestic. I love to ski and to hike. But mostly I like just standing at the bottom looking up in total awe at the snow-capped peaks.

2. Denver is flat. This means I will actually want to ride my fixie again. Since we’ve moved to Charlottesville in 2010 that poor little bike has been rather neglected. Denver also has good bike lanes and paths and that’s really nice.

3. Bhakti Chai. It’s the only pre-made chai worth drinking in America, IMO! Fresh pressed ginger juice gives it a fiery kick and it pairs perfectly with almond milk. During my Kundalini training in Boulder, Bhakti Chai was a complete godsend after those early morning sadhanas and before the long days of lectures and yoga practice.

4. A Kundalini Yoga community. I’m just going to go out and say it – the East Coast is still not ready for Kundalini Yoga. Compared to out West, there is very little going on here. I ended up taking a little break from teaching KY here because of the lack of response. I look forward to being near my teachers in Crestone and to arriving at a studio to teach knowing that some students will actually show! I miss practicing KY with community and sharing my love for the practice with others.

5. Crestone.Β It’s where FY and I met and fell in love. It’s where my ashram is and where my favorite teachers and healers are. It’s where I can go to reconnect to my most true self. FY and I are saving up money right now to buy a small parcel of land there to one day build our own little straw-bale house to which we will retreat when we need to reconnect and re-balance. A part of my heart resides in Crestone…it keeps calling me back.

6. Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurants. It’s so much easier to find great veg food out West (NYC is the exception to the rule here on the EC…it rocks it at the vegan food for sure). I love Watercourse and City O’ City in Denver – super tasty vegetarian comfort food and even better hipster-watching!

7. My Brother and Sister. My brother lives in Boulder where he and his lovely wife run an artisanal cheese and wine shop called Cured. My sister is an event planner in Aspen where she lives with her husband. It will be so fun for the three of us to be back in the same state again! I love skiing with my sister in Aspen!

8. Hot Springs. I adore jumping in the car and escaping into the countryside to go to some hot springs. Whether they are hike-in, super remote springs, or just old pools from years ago, I don’t care. I just love to soak! I love discovering new hot springs and sharing the relaxing and joyful experience of soaking with friends. There are so many epic hot springs in Colorado and New Mexico. I have a few favorites, but I can’t wait to explore some new territory.

9. Yoga Studios Galore. Colorado is full of yoga practitioners. It hosts some fantastic yoga festivals and conferences. Denver itself has a gazillion yoga studios. I look forward to living in a place where it might actually be possible for me to make more than just over minimum wage teaching yoga! I’m also super psyched to explore new studios and meet new teachers from whom to learn and gain inspiration.

10. Practicing in a Shala Again. This is a big one. I miss shala life! My body misses it too. I know it’s not about this, but, I’ve only gotten 5 new poses since this time last year. My practice is kind of at a standstill. I need some more community and the help of a teacher – daily!!! Denver has a nice but small Ashtanga community under the guidance of authorized teachers. Can’t wait!

BONUS: Moving to Denver means that in a few years I will have my very own personal acupuncturist! Yippee! FY is going back to school and I’m so proud of him for making this career choice – it’s going to be awesome.

Do I have any Colorado readers out there? Make yourself known! Let me know what’s up in the yoga scene out there these days!

And please “Like” Lila on Facebook to get all sorts of fun updates.

Blessings,

Frances

17 thoughts on “10 Reasons I’m Psyched to Move Out West.

  1. Hi Frances!
    We took Dana Julius teacher training together a few years back. What a wonderful way to reconnect! I saw your article on mind body about home practice as well as read your blog. You seem so happy and bright! I think I read u r getting married and moving to Denver. Yaay for you. Would love to hear from you and catch up. Who r u marrying? Friend me on fb under barb Cohen. I will look for u too

    • Hi Barb!
      Nice to hear from you. Thank you for reaching out. I friended you πŸ™‚
      Are you teaching these days? I look forward to being back in beautiful CO. I will definitely look you up when we settle in come Novemeber. My fiance is the same guy that you might have met during our teacher training…he popped in occasionally…lots of tattoos.
      Anyways, thanks for checking out my blog.
      Blessings!!

  2. Oh Frances! I am so excited for you and Thad although I am going to miss your jaunts to Philly. I guess we will have to come to you<3 BTW, I have a little dream of David and I buying a piece of land in Taos and building our cave.

    • Wouldn’t that be fun to have to one day have our own little corresponding yoga caves in the Sangre de Cristo mountains….so divine.
      We will definitely miss practicing with you all in Philly. We will have to arrange a workshop for David in Denver!!! That would be so much fun.
      xo

  3. so exciting! Denver has always been on my dream list. I too am infatuated with the mountains. I’m headed up there in October for a yoga photo shoot- you won’t be there until November, right?

    i’m excited to follow your journey out west πŸ™‚

    • hi!
      those mountains are so amazing, right? yes, we won’t be arriving until the very end of october.
      so cool that you are going to denver for a photoshoot.
      what kind of photography? thanks so much for following lila! stay in touch.
      blessings.

  4. randomly came across your blog. congrats on your move, funny to read and see the simliar life path you guys have to mine. i lived in denver/boulder for a few years and you’re going to love the yoga scene there, it’s great, especially richard freeman! i miss the bhakti chai too for sure, definitely the best ive ever found anywhere! i actually went to acupuncture school while i was there and just thought i would pass this link on of information gathered by many acupuncture colleagues of mine based on collective experience. can be a bit heavy to read but i think every prospective acupuncture student needs to at least read and digest this information aside from what you will hear from the schools before deciding to attend. being an acupuncturist is amazing, don’t get me wrong, but i have a hard time recommending anyone take this path based on the experience of myself and many people i know who have also gone through programs, at least based on the current educational structure. on a more positive note….good luck with your move and take care!
    http://www.theturningpointacupuncture.com/SoYouWantToBeAPunk.html

    • hi jorge.
      thanks for your comment. glad you found my little bloggy blog.
      i appreciate your advice and opinion. that’s some pretty interesting info about acupuncture school. it’s a bummer the system is so poorly designed. where did you attend school? my partner is planning on attending CSTCM in Denver. I think it’s around 50k for the whole program (3 years)….much cheaper than the CA schools and some others we peeked around at.
      where do you live now?
      mmn….bhakti chai…it’s the best πŸ™‚
      stay in touch.
      blessings!
      f

  5. Congratulations on your move πŸ™‚ Always feels like such a new start, doesn’t it? May all your wishes for the future come true and may you find a new (yoga) home…btw when is your wedding?
    Oh and I’ve a reply for a later post: since I’m sidelined because of an operation, I’ve been thinking about my yoga practice more than doing it πŸ™‚ I practice Ashtanga and Kundalini yoga and recently I’ve been struggeling to combine then and get benefits from both…could you talk about your journey, what the benefits of each of this styles are for you and how you combine them in your daily life (if you still do of course)? That would be really helpful πŸ™‚

    • hi there,
      thanks! our wedding is october 7th and we will be moving 2 or 3 weeks after that.
      i will definitely take that into consideration for another post. thanks for the inspiration.
      i do still practice both traditions. generally i do my ashtanga home practice (or mysore if i’m going to a shala) in the morning, maybe i’ll spend a few minutes before or after practice doing a little breath of fire and alternate nostril breathing to open my lungs and clear my head. right now at night i practice a kundalini meditation before bed. currently fy and i are doing 11 minutes of the masters touch (we finished 120 days of it last week but we are going to keep going) and then we do 3 minutes of a prosperity meditation.
      occasionally i will do a short kriya on a moonday/saturday or a day when i’m not up for a full ashtanga practice. i love the kundalini chants and i sleep with them playing at a low level every night (japji, so purkh, re man shabd, guru ram das chants etc.).
      i hope your recovery from the operation is smooth and peaceful.
      thanks for reading lila.
      blessings
      frances

  6. Pingback: Highlights from our Bhakti-fied Vacay. | Lila

  7. Nice! πŸ™‚ What acupuncture school is your man going to? I go to one in Louisville which is between Denver and Boulder – highly recommend it!

  8. Pingback: Reconnecting with Kundalini Yoga. | Lila

  9. Pingback: Introducing: Bhakti Chai | Lila

Leave a Reply

