Preparing for the Big Day!

Less than 3 weeks to go! I’m a bit excited, if you can’t tell! So please excuse the somewhat random and sporadic (and highly wedding-oriented!) postings on the blog for the next wee bit.

I’ve been collecting, diy-ing, detailing and planning everything for this wedding for a year now and I’m really over-the-moon that it’s almost here. I’ve actually been very organized (not my standard mode of operation) which means at this point, there’s little left for me to do other than final touch ups and vendor confirmations. So I plan to use these next few weeks as well as I can to support myself so that when the wedding weekend arrives I’m in the healthiest, happiest and calmest place possible.

Here are a few of my goals/intentions/plans:

– Do Extra YOGA! Duh! Because regular practice makes all the difference in the world. I just bought at 12 class card for the local Ashtanga shala. Enough time has passed, that I feel comfortable practicing there again, at least with one of the Mysore teachers. I will practice yoga everyday until the wedding (because, well, I do that already) but I’m planning on stepping up the athleticism of my practice by actually doing my full Ashtanga practice at least 5 days a week, in the shala environment whenever possible. The other days I might do a Vinyasa practice or Kundalini practice or both, or if my cycle calls for it, something a little softer and more restorative. Morning and evening meditation and pranayama are a must right now! So important for clearing my mind and keeping me even-keeled.

– Get More Movement – I want to take an extra long walk everyday, beyond just the normal walking to work/practice/shop etc. I love walking with my FY in the evening especially. It’s the sweetest way to wind down, we just chat and chant and stroll. I’m also planning on taking at least 2 Pure Barre classes a week so that my asana feels extra perky come October 7th.  🙂

– Eat a Clean Detox Diet – All vegan, gluten-free, cane-sugar-free, grain-free, unprocessed, organic, real nourishing food! I’m using a 2 week series of raw, organic, herbal cleansing supplements from Rawjuvenate to support this. I plan to have a few days here and there of just juice/smoothie cleansing. On non-fast days, I will eat primarily raw, but occasionally add a bit of cooked food that is nourishing but not heavy. I’m thinking things like steamed greens and miso soup with seaweed and root vegetables. I plan to keep it super light on the oils and eliminate all grains for these next few weeks. I hope this cleansing will bring my body to a light happy place, but in particular I hope it will clear my skin (which tends to be a bit problematic).

Extra Hydration – I want to be extra good about drinking lots of water!  Recently I’ve been taking an ACV shot in the morning followed by a big glass of luke-warm water before I eat anything. I think it’s super important to hydrate before you eat meals, and then take a step back from the glass after you eat, so that you can digest properly. I’ve loaded up on my favorite herbal teas (ginger, peppermint, rooibos chai, chammomile) and I plan to be sipping on them all day, in addition to lots of pure H2O.

– Spa as much as possible – I love playing “spa” at home. This normally pans out to me making a big old mess in the bathroom and putting lots of food on my face!  I plan on taking many long baths with salts and oils and maybe a bit of detoxing clay occasionally. I’ve made a promise to be extra good to my skin by doing lots of honey masks, argan oil massages, glycolic masks and cleansing with clay and essential oil steams. On top of all this home spa fun, my mother is a total angel and is giving me some special spa time with her up in DC next week! We are going to steam-bath and get massages at the Jefferson one night and then the next morning head down to the Korean Spa in Centreville for saunas, baths, steams and super-duper body scrubs. Yay! And then, (it just keeps getting better and better!) my dear friend and beloved teacher Sue is going to give me a massage on the Friday evening before our wedding festivities.  I’m so blessed!

– Be vain – In yoga, one of the essential lessons to comprehend is that YOU ARE NOT YOUR BODY. This is true, but it’s important to remember that the body is the vehicle which you have been given on this path so it’s best to take good care of it and treat it like the temple for your soul, which it is! I’m planning on letting my non-materialism and non-body-identification stuff sit on the sidelines so I can be extra vain leading up to the wedding. I’m getting manicures, facials, waxing, lash tinting, hair cut and coloring and all sorts of silly vain stuff that I don’t normally do. And I’m really looking forward to all the pampering and girliness!

– Be lazy  – This is where those hot baths come into play. I also plan on spending extra time lying on my sheepskin in supta baddha konasana and with my legs up the wall in viparita karani. I want to make sure that I’m not constantly running around like a crazy lady, but that I take time to sit and breathe, or cuddle up and relax with my sweetie.

Be very kind and loving to myself –  If I start geeking out, it’s time to do EFT. If I get overwhelmed, I just need to ask FY for a hug. If I get nervous, I just need to breathe. I know it will all work out beautifully, I just need to breathe, trust and treat myself gently.

– Sleep like a baby -Sleep is a big priority for me as the day approaches. I want to be very well rested so I’m making a strong effort to shut down the computer earlier, use some calming essential oils like vetiver and lavender and popping into bed at a nice early hour.

– Think a lot about LOVE – When it’s all said and done, the most important thing about all of this hoopla is that I’m marrying my most beloved and dearest friend. Yay! Over the next few weeks, I need to actually write my vows. I’ve been thinking about them for months, but no pen to paper yet. FY has a way with words, so I have no doubt his vows will blow mine out of the water. He writes me the most perfect and pithy love letters imaginable. I tend to ramble on, so one of the important things for me in writing my vows is keeping them at a reasonable length while still saying all the things I want to say. I’m really looking forward to spending some time thinking and writing about LOVE, respect, commitment and relationship.

Sounds good right? Well, I’ll let you know how it goes! To my married readers, what helped you arrive at your wedding day in the best possible mind-set? Got any good tips?

Thanks for reading!

Blessings and LOVE

Frances

 

 

7 thoughts on “Preparing for the Big Day!

  1. Pingback: Sprouted Sesame Super Green Tahini. | Lila

  2. Pingback: Good Intentions, Bad Results and the Importance of Adaptability. | Lila

  3. Pingback: On (Not) Losing Weight For My Wedding | Lila

Leave a Reply

