Sprouted Sesame Super Green Tahini.

 

It is a dark, dreary and blustery day here in Charlottesville, perfect conditions for making a mess in the kitchen. Accordingly, please excuse the poor lighting in the photos!

This is a very adaptable recipe that I’ve been making in various manifestations ever since I first experimented with raw food while living at the Haidakhandi Universal Ashram in Colorado.  The original recipe was simply sesame, olive oil, lemon, hing and salt. But I seem to have trouble keeping things simple. When it comes to food, I want serious bang for my buck!

So, the tahini recipe that follows is definitely a souped-up, extra nutritionally-dense version of the ashram staple. I made 2 big jars full of it so that I easily reach for something healthy and green in my fridge every day for the next week. This will help me stay on track as I cleanse and fortify my health in preparation for the big day.

I plan to dump it on my salads, slather it on raw flaxseed crackers and dip celery sticks and jicama slices into it.

This recipe is merely a guideline. Use what you have available in your home/garden. Make it your own and then share with me your new and improved recipes!

Recipe and More:

The first step is to soak your raw, white sesame seeds. I did this for over a day and night so that they sprouted a wee bit.

Sesame seeds are so tasty and healthy. They are loaded with protein, fiber, healthy fat, calcium and zinc (a mineral that many of us do not get enough of). They are also tiny, very cute and have an interesting cultural history.

Once your sesame seeds are ready to go, rinse them and toss in a Vitamix blender or food processor.

Add 1 cup of water (or more for a thinner consistency).

Blend!

Add VEGGIES:

– 2 celery sticks

– 5 to 10 kale leaves (I used dino)

– 2 or 3 small green onions

– 2 or 3 small peppers (or 1 regular size bell pepper, red or green)   

– handful of parsley

– 10 or 15 dandelion greens (the bitterness is so good for your liver and digestion)

Blend well.

Add a little flavor:

– 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

– juice from 1 large lemon

– 1 teaspoon of Himalayan Pink or Celtic sea salt

– Pinch of herb salt

– Hefty dose of cayenne pepper (good for stimulating agni and keeping warm as I eat mostly raw food  during this time of changing weather.)

– 1 tablespoon of kelp granules

– 1 tablespoon of spirulina or other super-green powder to get some extra alkaline goodness.

– 1 tablespoon of sundried tomato paste (adds a nice rich flavor).

Blend well and enjoy!

 

Blessings,

Frances

 

PS – A sneak peek of the theme for our wedding flowers. This arrangement is made up of leftovers from the “mock up” we did the other day. A bit droopy by now, but still so pretty and romantic.

 

6 thoughts on “Sprouted Sesame Super Green Tahini.

    • You could definitely still add hing if you like that flavor. I’m not a huge fan of hing these days, I think I’ve just had too much of it recently….you know those Hare Krishna’s and their asafoetida. 🙂
      If you can handle raw garlic, you could add that in. I find it difficult to digest, so those little green onions are a nice alternative for me.
      xo
      f

Leave a Reply

