Autumn Oats.

After two long sweaty hours of jumping around and bending over backwards, I want an epic breakfast and a big mug of tea.

In the summer time, this breakfast is normally a mason jar full of super elaborate smoothie with lots of greens, fruit, superfoods, dates, nuts, coconut oil, etc.

But now as the temperature drops, I’m back in oatmeal mode. Hot cereal feels so nourishing and satisfying on a cool morning. Fiance Yogi (what in the world am I going to call him after this weekend? Any suggestions?) particularly likes steel cut oats. They take more time then regular rolled oats, but they are worth it. If you have time/remember, try to always soak your grains – overnight ideally, which also cuts the cooking time significantly. It’s best to add a little tiny splash of ACV or lemon juice as this helps break down phytic acid, making your oats more digestible and nutritious.

I am not one of those cooks who keeps it all simple and spare. I try, but somehow I still manage to throw 4 extra ingredients into the pot. I’ve learned to embrace this about myself in the kitchen. I’m creative, I can’t follow a recipe to save my life, I make a mess and I rarely ever use measuring cups and yet, somehow, something delectable emerges out of the chaos.

In my kitchen, I use lots of warming and stimulating spices like cardamom, cinnamon and ginger. These add great flavor, stimulate digestion (agni) and are beneficial for vata-types like me.

The thing about these oats I love so much is that I add pureed yams or pumpkin. This adds a lovely orange color, a distinctly “fall” flavor and lots of grounding, nourishing yang energy. These orangy vegetables are great sources of Vitamin A too which helps keep your skin pretty, among other less superficial health benefits.

One addition that I rarely skip is black strap molasses. This thick syrup is a natural source of potassium, magnesium, calcium, iron and vitamin B6.  It is nourishing for Kidney chi and very beneficial for those of us who tend towards anemia. My acupuncturist always encourages me to eat molasses and I happily oblige!

These oats are not so simple, but by all means, feel free to nix ingredients or modify! Happy fall!

 

Autumn Oats

1 cup of steel cut oats – soaked and rinsed

2.5 cups of filtered water

1 organic apple – chopped in fine bits

sprinkle of pink salt

1 tablespoon of black strap molasses

2 tsp of grade B organic maple syrup (less or more to taste)

half a can of organic sweet potato puree (pumpkin is fantastic, butternut squash works too!)

handful of raw cashews (or your favorite nut…almonds are nice)

handful of dried unsweetened currants (or whatever you have around)

spoonful of organic coconut oil

spoonful of chia seeds (or flax)

1 teaspoon or more of ground cinnamon

hefty dash of cardamom, nutmeg and ginger

tiny pinch of turmeric

Guidelines:

 

Soak grains overnight. Rinse. Add to pot with chopped apples, water and salt.

Boil for 10 to 12 minutes.

Add all the spices, sweet potato/pumpkin, molasses, cashews and currants.

Simmer for 10 to 12 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Add more water or almond milk if getting too thick.

Lastly add coconut oil, chia seeds and maple syrup. Take off heat. Stir well, then allow the oats to sit and cool for 10 minutes.

Eat heartily!

This recipe makes enough for 2 ravenous Ashtangis at 10:30am who have been more or less fasting since 4pm the following day. So basically, normal people wouldn’t want to eat this much and this recipe could easily serve 3 people or maybe 4. Haha!

 

Blessings and LOVE

Frances

 

PS  – Excuse the radio silence upcoming. Wedding weekend ~ Jai!

10 thoughts on “Autumn Oats.

  1. Turmeric and sweet potato in your oats! Now that is serious! I also love putting tons of stuff in my oatmeal (often including fresh alfalfa sprouts at the end), and topping it with blackstrap molasses. Mmm!

  2. I am lucky enough to be able to speak from first-hand experience as a breakfast guest of the author: this is a sensational dish that I will try to replicate as soon as possible but the secret ingredient may be the magic touch of the chef so I can only hope for a similar result. Happy nuptials, Frances!

    • Why thank you Hari! I hope this recipe is relatively similar to our shared breakfast this past weekend.
      It was such a pleasure seeing you.
      We will see you at Jai Uttal perhaps 🙂
      Haribol!

  3. looks delish!!! I’m all about the polenta cereal with salt and rice suryp, and some vegan butter, just make sure the polenta is gmo free and organic:) You could call him HY Husband Yogi or AHY Awesome Husband Yogi:)

    Love,
    Joy
    Hare Krishna!

  4. Hey! Lovely lady, Thank you for your interesting posts and for sharing breakfast with us. Its is great to hear and read your thoughts and views on certain topics. Keep these post coming. Althought I have seen the odd pictures here and there I don t know the lucky man so well but I am wishing you both Love & Best Wishes Hugs & Squezzes now and in the future. Have a fab time on the weekend and lok forward to hearing all about it and seeing some pics Onwards & Ommmwardsx

Leave a Reply

