Healthy Hearty Pumpkin Bread.

Greetings from beautiful Boulder!

Thaddeus and I are loving life in Colorado so far. We even made an offer on a house yesterday in Capitol Hill in Denver. Very exciting stuff. I’m kind of feeling like an adult right now, minus the lack of a real job and the fact that I wear more colors in one outfit than the average 3 year old girl. Oh well, baby steps!

My brother’s shop, Cured, has these fantastic big pumpkins in right now. He brought one home the other night that I cooked up into a curried soup. Today the leftover puree was staring me in the face so I decided to make a little something sweet with it.

This recipe is pretty healthy as far as desert/quick breads go. I used a sprouted gluten-free flour, raw turbinado sugar and maple syrup to sweeten and obviously, no dairy or eggs. I had to toss some vegan chocolate chips in because, well, they’re tasty and I knew my brother and Thad would be particularly keen on that move.

The crisp cool air of early November seems like the perfect time for a little indulgence, especially with the seasonally appropriate and vitamin-rich addition of local pumpkin!

 

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¾ c sprouted buckwheat flour (I use Living Intentions Super Flour which has chia, sprouted almonds in it, but any sprouted or gluten-free flour would be perfect.)
  • ½ c raw turbinado sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ginger
  • ¼ tsp ground vanilla beans (or vanilla extract)
  • 1 c pumpkin purée
  • ½ c oil  (I used part coconut oil, part avocado oil because that’s what I had available)
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 3 Tbsp unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1½ cups of vegan dark chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Lightly oil a loaf pan.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk together pumpkin, oil, syrup, and coconut milk.
  5. Add wet mixture to dry; combine until just moistened. The batter will be very thick; don’t worry!
  6. Add in chocolate chips.  Or nuts/raisins if you are crazy like that 🙂
  7. Pour into prepared pan and bake 50 to 60 minutes or until top is browned and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  8. Let cool 20 minutes; use a butter knife to gently loosen bread from sides of pan, then invert onto a cooling rack.

Note – The sprouted flour gives the bread a grainier and heartier texture and flavor. If you want something a bit fluffier and more delicate, I would suggest using a light gluten-free all-purpose blend or a white pasty flour if you want to go all out.

Enjoy heartily with some spicy chai or mulled cider. Yum!

Happy November dear readers. Thank you for your continued support. Please remember to LIKE my Facebook page and follow me on Pinterest!

 

Love and Light,

Frances

2 thoughts on “Healthy Hearty Pumpkin Bread.

  1. Hi Frances:) So happy for you and Thad, your house sounds amazing and everything seems to be falling into place:) It’s so interesting how we intersect, especially as yoga practitioners, I was accepted to David’s Kovalam program and was planning on going this January, however, my husband lost his job, so, sadly I am not able to go at this time. It would have been wonderful to connect in person, in INDIA!! Hello!!:)
    I made that pumpkin bread, but i tweaked it with way more chips and I added vegan marshmallows(dandies) UNREAL!! just use a ceramic loaf pan or you will have to throw out the metal one…MESSY! but really good:) Thank you for the recipe, be well, enjoy your new home:)

    Love,
    Joy

    • whoa – hanging with you in india would have been amazing! kovalam is fantastic. what a bummer. so sorry to hear about your husband’s job. i will keep your family in my prayers.
      i have faith that krishna always has a way of connecting people at the right time in the right place. 🙂
      i love the addition of marshmallows – sounds super tasty.
      thanks for your well-wishes.
      blessings and love
      f

Leave a Reply

