January Snapshots.

I just bought myself a new camera as a little blog inspiration self-gift (that’s legit, right?). I’m super excited about this because I was getting kind of lazy about takin quality photographs. My old DSLR was just too big for me to want to carry around all the time so I relied too much on the itty bitty iphone. It was a great camera for sure (a Nikon D5000) but I’m a simple kind of gal and I wanted something a bit more petite. My new camera is an Olympus E-PL3 in a very retro white. I’m quite smitten by it.

The real reason I felt inclined to switch to a smaller camera (with a manual option) is that I’ve decided to make a goal for myself to post every single day we are in India. We leave in 2 weeks! I want to share with you all pictures of our time in Kerala and reflections of our Ashtanga Yoga intensive with David Garrigues. 

I’ve been up in Aspen the past few days visiting my sister and skiing with my husband. I’ve used this time to play around with my new camera and get to know it. It’s quite different from my old DSLR and I feel like a bit of a neophyte, but here are a few snapshots of my weekend. I played with some different settings as well as practicing manually setting it up. Aspen is a really picturesque town so it was a pleasure to fiddle around with my camera here because there is just so much beauty and charm to capture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is Zara, my sister’s hilarious yellow Lab. She is a rescue dog for the Snowmass ski patrol.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Zara can run and chase her “bumper” for hours. We took an evening stroll through Snowmass yesterday to give her a little play time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My sister is a wedding and event planner. I helped her with some crafty projects over the weekend to get things ready for an inspiration shoot she is organizing. We painted glitter on pine cones, glued sparkly stars on swizzle sticks and spray-painted her old ice skates neon pink!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And two iphone shots from up on the hill. Such a breathtaking place to ski!

photo (4)

photo (5)

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.

I’m feeling so grateful to be in Colorado this winter.

Stay tuned for a lengthy yoga piece tomorrow.

Love and Blessings,

Frances

PS – What do you think of the new theme? Lila is getting spruced up for the new year!

5 thoughts on “January Snapshots.

    • Thanks my dear! I do not have the natural gift for photography like you do, but I’m having fun! Please do keep blogging – I love catching glimpses of your beautiful world up in the Pacific Northwest.
      Lots of Love
      F

    • Thank you dear Susan.
      We are very excited for our return to India.
      I’ve not been to Goa yet, but I would like to someday.
      My teacher David is actually there right now at Purple Valley.
      Gratitude for your continued support.
      Love F

  1. Pingback: Glimpses of our Nest | Lila

Leave a Reply

