Ashtanga Adventures…

DSCN0483

This morning we depart for India! It doesn’t really seem so long ago that we just landed back in the States from Delhi. I guess we are really trying to make the most out of those 10 year visas.

For the next 3 and a half weeks, we will be in Kovalam, Kerala with a bunch of awesome Ashtangis practicing our little booties off under the guidance of certified teacher and general badass, David Garrigues.

One of my goals for this trip is to post a little tidbit every day here on Lila. If you would like to stay updated on these posts, please sign up for email subscription at the bottom of the page and be sure to follow Lila on Facebook.

This is my 4th trip to India since 2007! And I think I finally packed the right amount of clothes this time. Though of course, I did manage to lose the power adaptor that I oh so cleverly hid from myself a few months ago. I have a habit of doing that…putting things in places that I think will be the perfect spot so I won’t forget it and then I promptly do!

The process of flying across the world is kind of a drag, but the end result is always worth it. We did a quick little practice at Mysore today and are now packing up and I’m relishing my last avocado for a few weeks.

Our number one trick for avoiding jet lag is to fast during the entire flight. It makes you super spacey, but I swear, it really works! You start fasting 2 hours before your flight and you keep your fast until you arrive at your destination. Once there, we try to eat whatever meal is happening at that time. I drink herbal tea and lots of water during the fast. If you are going on a long trip sometime, I definitely recommend trying this. Basically the fasting helps readjust your circadian rhythms just like light exposure does.

Anyways, off we go.

Blessings.

Frances

4 thoughts on “Ashtanga Adventures…

  1. How lucky am I to have found you on this post; your first day of an adventure I dream of taking myself one day. So excited to read of your and yours husbands journey! Thank you!

    Om Ravaye Namah
    Dara’Aasa

  2. Safe travels, sweet angel, sweet Thaddeus, admirable Ashtangis.
    I am sending you much love as you travel tonight…. and wishing you well.
    So much love…

  3. Pingback: The India Chronicles | Lila

Leave a Reply

