A Trivandrum Trip

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA beautiful fountain at Villa Maya

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe goofy mustaches in India still make me giggle and wonder….

Yesterday we ventured back into the city, Trivandrum, for a little outing with our friend Lauren and her partner.

The main focus of the day, honestly, was to eat some more tasty veggie thali. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We bopped around and did a little shopping. Here’s my favorite picture of the day – Thad in the “trial room”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Most of our shopping was cut short because of a State-wide protest. Apparently, McDonald’s is going to open their first Kerala franchise and the people here are very unhappy about that, so they demonstrated this by shutting down all the businesses and banks yesterday. I asked my driver if the people were mad because McDonald’s kills so many cows, but he said that it has more to do with the fact that McDonald’s is such a large corporation and that the Keralanians (I’m making that up, but you know what I mean) don’t want it to be taking money away from local businesses.   Interesting…I still think the cow-killing is worse.

Anyways, enjoy these images from our explorations around town!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just 3 more days in India. Can’t say I’m really that bummed about it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Me and My Funny Valentine

I’m looking forward to the snow back home.

I’ve already started planning out my first full meal to cook at home…though the more I dream about it, the bigger it gets. Right now it’s up to quinoa, acorn squash, black beans, sesame kale, avocado and a tahini-ginger-parsley sauce….oh yummy yummy.

Blessings!

Frances

5 thoughts on “A Trivandrum Trip

  1. Those veg thalis look so great! I totally miss that. Meanwhile, you’re dreaming about quinoa and avocado and kale and all the great stuff (especially worry-free raw and salad delights) you don’t easily find in India. I can relate. Whenever I spend a long time in India I totally long for broccoli and blueberries. Enjoy your remaining days there!

    • The thali is bomb diggity, no denying that. But it’s funny how we dream of other food… I love Indian food, but it’s hard for me to eat it everyday, whereas when I was in Thailand I was perfectly content to eat Thai food non-stop. But, wow, blueberries – those sound tasty tasty. Just a few more days though…
      Blessings.

  2. Pingback: The India Chronicles | Lila

Leave a Reply

