Essential Oil of the Week: Roman Chamomile

One of the healing tools I employ in my bodywork practice is the usage of essential oils. There are so many awesome essential oils with a myriad of uses to benefit your health, home and beauty regime too. In my training at The Crestone Healing Arts Center I was introduced to the high quality oils from Floracopeia. I have stuck with this line of product because I personally love these oils, but I know many other therapists who use Young Living oils and other companies.

Over the course of the last year I have been studying essential oils through a self-paced (read into this – I’m not sure when I will ever finish…) continuing education program created by David Crow and Jade Shutes of Floracopeia. It’s been really fascinating and has deepened my love of these oils even more, but, let’s just say, I haven’t been the most proactive about finishing the chemistry sections. Anyways…..I got to thinking about this and I thought, maybe if I blogged about aromatherapy it might give me the push I need to finish this course!

So, I’m starting a weekly post that will profile one particular essential oil! And this week we will begin with one that came in handy to me recently when I dug my floral knife into my palm. Ouch. With the use of the Roman Chamomile EO and some pure Vitamin E, my wound is completely healed with no scar.

roman-chamomileRoman Chamomile 

This sweet, apple-like, strongly fragranced oil is derived from the flowers of the European perennial Roman (or English) Chamomile. It has been used medicinally since ancient times as it is said to be 120 times more antiseptic than sea or salt water. It was used in hospitals during the Second World War as a natural disinfectant. In modern pharmaceutical medicine, it is added to antiseptic ointments and used in carminative/antispasmodic preparations.

Note – people with sensitivities to the pollen of Ragweed should be cautious using this oil as it can potentially cause similar allergy-like reactions. Do a patch test first.

Roman Chamomile essential oil is anti-inflammatory, making it beneficial for sunburns and other skin conditions such as eczema, psoriasis, hives, acne and dermatitis. It is great for healing open wounds.

It has a mild analgesic effect and can be used for easing pain, relaxing the nerves and relieving spasms. Toothache, teething pain, indigestion, stress-related digestive upsets, hemorrhoids, cramping, tendonitis, bursitis, plantar fasciitis and other painful conditions can be improved by the usage of Roman Chamomile.

It is beneficial for women’s hormonal health – its use can provide balance and healing for irregular periods, PMS, dysmenorrhea and sore breasts. It is also effective for postpartum perineal healing.

This is a safe and positive oil to use with anxious or hyperactive children (and adults!). It has a calming, soothing effect that can assist with bouts of anger, agitation, stress and frustration. It helps clear emotional congestion.

It is cooling for pitta type people and soothing for imbalances in vata types.

To use this oil – try adding a few drops into a distiller in your home, in a warm bath or by simply rubbing a few drops in your palms and take long deep breaths. It can be used topically, for wound healing and skin conditions for example. Try adding a few drops into a bland carrier oil like almond or jojoba before applying to the skin.

image

10 thoughts on “Essential Oil of the Week: Roman Chamomile

  1. I took an essential oil and herbal extract course in college at it was awesome!! Chamomile extract (not the oil) is also awesome for fevers. 40-50 drops (about 1/2 teaspoonful) in a cup of hot water 4 to 5 times a day promotes diaphoresis to help put the body’s thermoregulatory system back in order!
    Adding 1/2 cupful of dried chamomile flowers to a mesh sachet and allowing it to steep in a hot bath is divine for the skin and relaing to fall asleep (double bonus if you combine with epsom salts)!
    I heart Chamomile!!

  2. Pingback: Essential Oil of the Week: Mandarin | Lila

  3. Pingback: Essential Oil of the Week: Lemongrass | Lila

  4. Pingback: My Magic Scar-Removing Oil Blend | Lila

Leave a Reply

