I Heart Hazelnuts

cd600376ca02ca59aa1a8a32738728a7

I used to be a full-on almond girl. Almond milk, almond butter, almond flour, almonds in my granola/trail mix/salads/wherever. I still think almonds are awesome…but recently I’ve fallen in love, like madly and deeply, with hazelnuts.

Hazelnuts are sweet, rich and a bit unexpected. They add a certain depth to a salad. Try some roasted hazelnuts with goat cheese, arugula and maybe some thinly sliced pears or rasberries – heaven!

They contain healthy fats, lots of fiber, a decent dose of protein, phytochemicals and lots of Vitamin E and B – super good for brain and heart health. Hazelnuts are rich in folate, magnesium, calcium, potassium and more. All in all, tasty and very nutritious! Nuts and seeds are a really essential component for a balanced, interesting and healthy plant-based diet.

I first fell in love with hazelnuts when I traveled to France as a 12 year old. I was pretty much eating Nutella crepes every day. Who doesn’t love Nutella. But it’s simply too dangerous to keep around the house; it’s too creamy smooth and easy to devour!

My “grown up” (and dairy-free) version of Nutella is Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter. I certainly wouldn’t recommend eating it every day, but dear Lord, this is the world’s most perfect period food. It’s salty and sweet, chocolatey, full of good fat and protein so it feels you up quickly and it’s incredibly satisfying. One big spoonful totally satiates my moon cycle cravings, and in the grand scheme of things, this really isn’t that bad for you, minus the cane sugar factor. (This is when Thad would chime in to remind me that sugar is Sattvic!)

The other hazelnut decadence that has been bringing a massive smile to my face recently is using Pacific organic hazelnut milk to make my chai in the morning. The mixture of the sweet richness of hazelnut milk with the gingery spiciness of masala tea is delightful. Breakfast is my absolute favorite meal of the day and I like to take full advantage of its wonderfulness. Hazelnut milk is key!

Last night I made this gluten-free seed and nut bread recipe using hazelnuts. It was fantastic and super easy to make. I have a feeling this is going to be a new staple in our household!

Do you have a beloved recipe or dish using these tasty little guys?

Anyways, happy Monday! Mix up your nut routine and throw in some filberts. Food should be fun, not boring!

Love and Blessings

Frances

8 thoughts on “I Heart Hazelnuts

  1. Favorite salad: Massaged Kale Lacinato with salt pepper and olive oil, roasted crushed hazelnuts, raisins soaked in balsamic vinegar, and a sprinkle of pecorino romano optional.

  2. Hazelnut MILK…..I need a few moments to get over the awesomeness of this. We drink a lot of coconut milk and almond milks here. Each of us has our own *Fun* dairy issues in this house. I love coconut milk to make chai. But hazelnut milk? After the amazingness of choco-hazelnut butter, toasted hazelnuts in everything, this is one of the most fabulous things I have read. Now to see if our natural foods store can get it in here!!!!! I do chop up hazelnuts after they’ve been roasted, to serve with roasted, creamy and yummy squash soups or to put on a root veggie roast that we eat a lot. YUM.

  3. NOTE: if you have soaked a large amount of nuts and don’t intend to make milk with it all, you have 2 options: 1) put remaining nuts that you don’t intend to use back in the bowl and cover with water and then keep it in the fridge for up to 1 week – make sure you change the water daily; 2) put rinsed nuts in a freezer baggie and store in the freezer for future use. Types of nuts/seeds to make nut milk with: sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, almonds, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, brazil nuts, hemp seeds, cashews, walnuts, pecans.

  4. What I really like about your nut milk recipe is the open availability to use different nuts at the creator’s leisure. I have only purchased almond milk (in terms of nut subs) but hazelnut or cashew- brazil even- would be an adventure!

  5. Pingback: When NOT to DIY | Lila

  6. Pingback: Straight Up Deliciousness: Vegan Hazelnut-Chocolate Cookies | Lila

Leave a Reply

