Dwi Pada Sirsasana Is My Ego Eradicator

deerdwipada

In Kundalini Yoga, there is this exercise called “ego eradicator.” It basically consists of sitting upright with the arms extended in a wide V overhead, finger tucked into the palms, thumbs stretched out as if they could draw an arc over the head, eyes closed and rolled up at the brow point while you do 3 minutes of vigorous Breath of Fire. It’s a great way to open the lungs for pranayama and to clear the sinuses. It takes a little bit of effort to maintain the arm position properly for 3 minutes, but like most things, it’s really mind over matter!

I’ve never quite understood the name though. I’ve been doing this little practice for a few years and my ego is fully in tact. But, thank heavens, I’ve found something else that seems to be doing the trick in terms of ego annihilation and it is that pesky Intermediate Series pose, dwi pada sirsasana.

If I’m ever starting to feel too high and mighty, the best way to knock me down to size is to make me try to put both legs behind my head by myself at 7am on a Monday morning. I’m all hunched over, belly in rolls despite my best efforts at uddiyana bandha, my right leg is flailing in the air as I finagle it back behind my left foot, my poor neck is all cranked sideways trying to hold my legs in place – it’s a mess!

I pretty much fail at dwi pada, and it ain’t for lack of trying. I’ve been working on this pose for a good long while now, having had to take a wee break to deal with my SI pain. Somedays it’s better than others, but somedays my right leg never even makes it back there. That’s the thing about this practice, progress happens but it’s rarely linear.

I love the challenge of my Ashtanga practice. After a powerful practice in the morning, the rest of life doesn’t seem quite so difficult. Yes, certain poses and aspects of Ashtanga can be frustrating, but it’s also so empowering when you do finally get the pose right, when something actually makes sense. I remember that when I first managed to rise up fully from laghu vajrasana by myself, I exclaimed “I did it!” and then proceeded to do a little dance on my knees. Such victory – I had been wrestling with that pose for over a year until I finally mustered up the strength to get it done!

Often times my practice of dwi pada sirsasana just makes me laugh. I feel so silly and uncoordinated. It’s not that the pose is painful even, I just haven’t “figured” it out yet, and my tight hips don’t help! But, I would rather be laughing at my messy and hard pose than crying, and I think that’s a good sign in terms of progress. Part of me feels like I “should” be better at this pose, as if it’s not fair that it’s hard, but here too I see how the challenge of this pose has been beneficial in terms of humbling me. It takes time to  master something and this is exactly how it should be. Having a practice that helps you develop patience is a real gift.

I believe that one sign that the practice is working is the humility and strength demonstrated by the practitioner and it’s these hard poses, like dwi pada, that can help up grow and become kinder, more patient and loving people.

What’s your “ego eradicator”?

Love and Blessings,

Frances

PS – This is a reindeer in dwi pada sirsasana because that’s way more fun to look at than me.

6 thoughts on “Dwi Pada Sirsasana Is My Ego Eradicator

  1. Oh, Frances, I totally relate with you on this one… Dwi Pada is a total challenge for me, and something that I have tried to just “power through” (i.e. not take the time to really go deep and figure it out for my body) for a while now… Well, now that I am starting to learn 3rd series, Dwi Pada is coming back to the forefront, as I need to develop the strength to keep both legs behind my head if I ever hope to get through the challenges I am facing in 3rd series… any ego I may have had is now lying on the floor, stomped and beaten to death! I hope that these challenges are helping my to cultivate humility, patience, and kindness… they definitely help me to start my day with a good laugh at myself as I tend to fall out of Bhairavasana a few times before I’m able to hold it for 5 breaths…

    • hi lindsey.
      i totally hear you….thad almost smushed me badly when he fell out of bhairavasana once when my mat was next to his….and just looking at thad in dhruvasana kind of makes me hyperventilate. i know my body will get there someday, but damn, those 3rd poses look tough! i commend you for learning that series – it’s serious!
      blessings.
      f

  2. “progress happens but it’s rarely linear.” Thanks so much for this reminder! Sticking with a yoga practice has so much to offer, and I usually find that “getting” a pose is the least of the benefits. It’s the amazing journey that holds the real lessons!!

    • you’re very welcome lybsta. thank you for reading and commenting. i’m right there with you…it’s the journey that makes it all so powerful.
      have a great weekend!
      f

  3. I could do everything else twice if i didn’t had to do kapotasana 🙂 Or any backbend for that matter. I actually feel a little uncomfortable just leaning my head back now that I think about it 😀
    Everytime I’m done with it I’m glad I survived….again!

Leave a Reply

