Recipe: Pretty Pink Summer Salad With Honey-Cumin Vinaigrette

ffe915aecf2611e284c522000aa801df_7

A very kind friend gave me a Cuisinart food processor for a wedding gift. Since I had never owned one before, I didn’t use it a lot those first few months. It never crossed my mind as I manually grated beets and other laborious activities that there was an easier way. So, now I’m making up for lost time by using my Cuisinart as much as possible. It’s a pretty awesome tool to have handy!

Summer has finally hit Denver and the temperatures are creeping up there. I wanted to make a large bowl of something tasty, refreshing and cooling to have in the fridge for when it’s really hot this weekend. I love grated vegetable salads. They are a great way to use up a variety of veggies I might have in the fridge and are wonderfully nutritious.

Here’s a guideline recipe for the salad I made for this weekend. I would encourage you to use what you have available. This recipe makes a large heaping bowl of yummy pink goodness, but if you don’t need quite that amount, cut this recipe in half. I find that this kind of salad actually gets tastier after it has a bit of time to soak up the vinaigrette.

This would be a perfect salad for a summer party or picnic. It takes just minutes to make! I used the large hole grater on my food processor, but if you don’t have a food processor, you can hand-grate the carrots, beets and apple and finely chop the other vegetables.

SALAD:

1/3 of a jicama

1 green apple

1 small red cabbage

1 large red beet

2 stalks of celery

5-7 carrots

 

VINAIGRETTE: 

3 TB of raw local honey

1/4 cup of healthy oil of choice (I used Udo’s 3-6-9 Blend)

1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar

2 TB cumin seeds

2 tsp coriander

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp allspice

Whisk together the vinaigrette and then mix in with the veggies. Serve chilled.

Happy Summer!

Love Frances

Leave a Reply

