My Number One Trick For Staying Hydrated This Summer

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Truth be told, I hate summer.

The heat makes me feel lazy, heavy and disinterested….and sometimes, angry (it’s that fiery pitta hiding under my flaky vata constitution).

I tolerate summer by taking plenty of freezing cold showers, drinking gallons of water and avoiding the piercing mid-day sun like the plague. I know, I sound like barrels of fun. I’m just more of a snow bunny than a beach babe, can’t help myself.

Anyways, hydration is so essential to health and well-being, especially when you live somewhere as dry and sunny as Colorado. Drinking that extra glass or two of water makes the difference between a headache and a good day for me.

I always drink at least one full glass of water before I eat anything in the morning so that I’m starting off my day on the right foot. When I started that habit a few years ago, it made a huge difference in my hydration level.

As the day goes on, when it’s hot like it is now, I love drinking what I call “spa water.”

Water is perfect and lovely just the way it is, but I find that sometimes in the summer, chilling it with some refreshing natural supplementation is a surefire way to get me drinking more of it.

Last year I purchased a Bodum iced tea pitcher and it got me jazzed about making more herbal infusion and flavored waters.

One of my favorite infusion is a few mint sprigs and a handful of dried lemon balm. This is a very cooling mixture.

This week’s spa water consists of a few slices of organic washed lemon, cucumber and crushed mint leaves from my little garden.

So tasty and fresh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you make “spa water?” What’s your favorite concoction?

Blessings!

Frances

4 thoughts on “My Number One Trick For Staying Hydrated This Summer

  1. !!! LOVE that pitcher! NEED! I do a lot of fruit/waters in the summer too, this would come in handy! My fave is watermelon and valencia orange, super refreshing 🙂

    • It’s pretty awesome. I love the melon/orange combo. I will definitely try that.
      Hope you are well Kharman! I finally got 2 floral jobs…one of them is actually with Bella Calla, the studio you told me about. 😉

Leave a Reply

