Healthy Apple Almond Muffins

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I felt like baking this evening. I didn’t want to go to the grocery store so I decided to shop in my pantry instead and come up with something tasty.

These delicious muffins are wheat free, dairy free and naturally sweetened using apples and brown rice syrup. They are full of fiber, protein and healthy fats from the almond butter and coconut oil. I think these are going to be the perfect post-yoga treat in the morning.

Apple Almond Muffins

1 1/2 cup of gluten-free flour

1 cup almond meal

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp xantham gum

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tbs ground golden flaxseeds

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

2 tbs coconut oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 1/2 tsp almond extract

6 tbs unsweetened apple sauce

4 tbs creamy almond butter

1/2 cup brown rice syrup

1 tbs grade B organic maple syrup (optional)

1 organic apple chopped into small cubes

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix the dry and wet ingredients separately before folding together with a spatual, adding in the cubed apple pieces last.

Scoop into lightly oiled muffin tins, filling all the way to the rim of the pan.

Bake for 30 minutes. This recipe makes 12 muffins.

Allow muffins to cool for 5 to 10 minutes  before digging in….haha…if you can.

Happy baking! Happy Monday!

Love and Blessings,

Frances

8 thoughts on “Healthy Apple Almond Muffins

  1. Is this my afternoon snack? 😉

    Kindly,

    Lilli Black Owner, Bella Calla 303.995.2867

    Sent while mobile… please forgive any typos.

  2. I love muffin recipes! I experiment and change them up all the time! some of these ingredients I don’t have in my home, but I bet I could still give it a try! I love the idea of apple muffins maybe with some spices for the winter too!

    • Thanks for commenting. I love muffins too. I’m just about to pop one of these in the toaster oven and spread a little extra almond butter and jam on one for breakie. Yum.
      🙂

  3. Should one stick with apples? I usually prefer other fruits in baked goods (I’m the only American on earth, I know), and right now I have 20 lbs of peaches and 10 lbs of plums. Using a stone fruit- would you change up any of the other ingredients?

Leave a Reply

