Recipe: Southern Fried Tofu

IMG_1583 2

In my experience, there are two distinct types of vegetarians.

There are those, like myself, who never really developed a taste for meat, and therefore do not miss it.

And there are others, like my husband, who loved meat, but chose to give it up for ethical, spiritual or health reasons.

That second type tends to love fake meat products, even though a lot of these items are really unhealthy and kind of icky. But not all….for example, this recipe I’ve created satisfies my husband’s longing for fried chicken and it’s not chock full of chemically weird isolate stuff. Of course, “fried” is in the title here, so I’m not claiming this to be the healthiest recipe I’ve ever posted, but it is darn tasty and can be just the thing you need to scratch that itch if you are feeling like falling off the plant-based wagon.

IMG_1584

Ingredients:

1 brick of firm tofu

2 tablespoons of nutritional yeast

1/2 tablespoon of finely ground corn meal

1 tsp of sea salt

2 heaping tablespoons of unrefined coconut oil

2 teaspoons of coarsely ground black pepper

1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper

 

Instructions:

Rinse tofu. Press for at least an hour.

Cut into squares. 

Mix corn meal, nutritional yeast, salt and seasoning into a pie dish.

Dip both sides of the tofu pieces into the mixture until it makes a light coating.

Add the oil to a hot iron skillet. Allow the oil to get very hot, at least 2 or 3 minutes before tossing the tofu in, piece by piece.

Cook on a medium-high flame for 3 minutes or so on each side, until the tofu becomes golden and crispy.

 

Enjoy!

Love Frances

 

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Southern Fried Tofu

  1. You are a culinary goddess! I have an unholy attachment to tofu, I could just eat a whole block on it’s own, I know eeew and very wierd:) But hey, there are worse things:) I always bake mine, but I’m trying this one asap!! Thanks Frances!:) Love, Joy

    • I love tofu as well… I try to not eat it that often, but sometimes it is just what the doctor ordered. Hope this recipe works for you. I think the pepper really makes it. Thaddeus is a super big fan of this style of tofu, and he can often be my harshest culinary critic 😉
      xo

    • The one with the kale in it is just an iron Le Creuset pan actually. Both pans are heavy cast iron – my favorites for pretty much all stove-top cooking 🙂

Leave a Reply

