Autumnal Apple Bread Recipe

IMG_2064

Last night I returned from five long exhausting but inspiring days of hard wedding work up in Aspen. As I drove home last night, I went through massive rains and over two snowy passes. It’s the end of September and the sight of snow made me beyond excited. I also passed at least 25 vintage 1920’s era Rolls Royces, which was quite superb. A sight to be seen only in Aspen!

Today I’m having a lazy day, nesting and recovering from the lack of sleep, regular meals or asana practice. I slept in late, went to a gentle yoga class at 10am and then settled into a day of cooking and resting, slow walks and snuggling with my little pup Artemis.

I made a wild rice and mushroom dish, roasted sweet potatoes and a spicy and delicious apple quickbread. I am fully embracing the tastes, smells and feelings of fall. It’s crisp and breezy outside with clear blue skies. I am one happy girl.

I love fall foods. For me, apples (and squash!) truly epitomize the autumn harvest.

This recipe is wheat-free, vegan and uses coconut sugar instead of cane. The moistness comes from apple sauce as well as from the chunks of fresh apples themselves.

It’s sweet and cake-like, but not too sinful to be ruled out for breakfast in my book.

😉 Enjoy!

IMG_2128

Autumnal Apple Bread 

2 Tablespoons of ground golden flaxseed, mixed with 3 Tablespoons of purified water

1 cup of oat flour

2/3 cup of almond meal/flour

Pinch of Himalayan salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon cardamom powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon nutmeg

3 Tablespoons of melted coconut oil

2 Tablespoons of unsweetened almond milk or water

1 crispy apple cut into small chunks

½ cup of unsweetened apple sauce

¾ cup of coconut sugar

 Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a bread pan with a tiny dollop of coconut oil.

Mix dry ingredients well. Set aside flax with water for a few minutes to congeal then add all the wet ingredients into the dry, adding the apple chunks last.

Bake for 55 minutes to 1 hour. Check with a sharp knife or toothpick through the center to check for doneness.

IMG_2129

Love and Blessings,

Frances

3 thoughts on “Autumnal Apple Bread Recipe

  1. Pingback: Fifteen Fun Things To Do This Fall | Lila

Leave a Reply

