Straight Up Deliciousness: Vegan Hazelnut-Chocolate Cookies

IMG_2221

I know I’ve said in the past that my life consists of more than puppies, yoga and vegan cookies, and it does, it really does! But, that’s not to say that vegan cookies aren’t totally bomb and therefore an essential part of what I deem to be a happy life. πŸ˜‰

This recipe brings together chocolate and hazelnuts, two of my all-time favorite flavors.

They are super simple, vegan, cane-sugar free and quick to make. Give ’em a try and tell me what you think.

IMG_2224

Vegan Hazelnut-Chocolate Cookie Recipe:

1/2 cup of coconut sugar

1/3 cup of coconut oil or almond oil

6 TBs of unsweetened nut milk (hazelnut or almond)

1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce

1/3 cup of maple syrup

1 tsp of vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

1 cup of hazelnut meal/flour

1 tsp of baking soda

1/2 tsp of salt

3 TBs of cocoa powder

1 cup of chocolate chips

1/3 cup of finely chopped hazelnuts

Beat the first 6 ingredients together until smooth.

Add in the final ingredients with as few strokes necessary to mix well.

Bake at 375 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes. Allow cookies to sit for 1 minute before removing to metal cooling racks.

Yields just about 3 dozen cookies.

Enjoy!

Love Frances

4 thoughts on “Straight Up Deliciousness: Vegan Hazelnut-Chocolate Cookies

  1. Thoughts on switching hazelnut for almond flour? Price point difference here is ridiculous but I’m wondering if I’d need to change up the wet ingredient measurements. I haven’t had troubles in the past, but they were typically ‘crumblier’ baked goodies. I’m making ‘curried’ pumpkin & butternut squash soup tonight. I may have to post it!

    • Yum on the soup – I adore anything curried and orange. πŸ™‚
      Almond meal would totally work. I just don’t happen to have any in the house right now. These cookies are sort of cakey, but in a good way. I might add a tiny tiny smidge more liquid in my next batch.
      xo

Leave a Reply

